Republican National Lawyers Association | (RNLA)
Republican National Lawyers Association | (RNLA)

RNLA Awards

Hon. Edwin Meese III Award

The Hon. Edwin Meese III Award is bestowed to an individual who has upheld the rule of law in the face of adverse political challenges. The Ed Meese Award will be presented at the National Policy Conference, and the 2018 award winner will be announced soon. For more information on the conference and to register, click here.

Republican Lawyer of the Year Award

Each year, the RNLA bestows the Republican Lawyer of the Year Award on a lawyer for his or her outstanding professional accomplishments and years of dedicated service to the Republican Party and its ideals.

Betty Murphy Award

The Betty Murphy Award this award is given each year to an unsung hero, member, trailblazer, with entrepreneurial spirit, a community service leader, an organization builder who inspires others' efforts.

RNLA Chairman's Award

The RNLA Chairman's Award is an award given at the National Election Law Seminar. This award is given to an individual whose contributions have significantly furthered the RNLA mission advancing professionalism, open, fair and honest elections, career opportunity, and Republican ideals and made a noteworthy and positive impact for the Republican Party and the United States of America.

Past award winners of the Hon. Edwin Meese III Award include:

2017: Donald F. McGahn III

David Bowsher (RNLA VP for Programming & 2017 NPC Master of Ceremonies), White House Counsel Don McGahn (2017 Ed Meese Award Recipient), Former Attorney General Ed Meese, and Manuel Iglesias (RNLA First Vice President)

2016: Chuck Cooper

Pictured left to right: Chuck Cooper and Dick Wiley (2015 Ed Meese Award recipient)

2015: Dick Wiley

Pictured left to right: Dick Wiley and Former Attorney General John Ashcroft

2014: Michael Mukasey

2013: Fred Fielding

2012: Michael Chertoff

2011: Mayor Rudy Giuliani

2010: Senator Jeff Sessions

2009: Hans Von Spakovsky

2008: C. Boyden Gray

2007: Ambassador John Bolton

2006: Ted Olson

2005: Attorney General John Ashcroft

2004: Judge Ken Starr

2003: Attorney General Ed Meese

Past award winners of the RNLA Republican Lawyer of the Year Award include:

2017: Larry Levy

Pictured left to right: Larry Levy and 2016 Lawyer of the Year Award Recipient John Ryder

2016: John L. Ryder

Pictured left to right: Mark Braden, Randy Evans, John Ryder, RNC Chairman Reince Priebus, George Terwilliger, and JC Boggs

2015: Bobby Burchfield

Pictured left to right: Elliot Berke and Bobby Burchfield

2014: E. Mark Braden

2013: George J. Terwilliger III

2012: J. Caleb Boggs III

2011: J. Randolph Evans

2010: Charles J. Cooper

2009: James Bopp, Jr.

2008: Theodore B. Olson

2007: Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr.

2006: Harvey M. Tettlebaum

2005: Bob Horn & Betty Southard Murphy

2004: Dick Wiley

Past award winners of the Betty Murphy Award include:

Past award winners of the Betty Murphy Award include:

2017: Linda A. Kerns

2016: Kathryn Ciano

2015: Heather Heidelbaugh

2014: Tom Spencer

2013: Brigida Benitez

2012: Nancy Nord

Past award winners of the RNLA Chairman's Award include:

2017: Manuel Iglesias

About Us



Find a Lawyer

Join Us


Support Us

Members Only

About the RNLA
Local Contacts

Award Winners
Press Releases
Election Integrity News

By Name or State
By Practice Area

Become a Member
Member Benefits



©  - Republican National Lawyers Association (RNLA)  -  All Rights Reserved
Website by: DaveScans